Monday, December 9, 2019


The Livingston Symphony Orchestra presents

Happy Birthday, Ludwig

WHEN: December 14, 2019, at 7:30 pm
Livingston High School, 30 Robert Harp Drive, Livingston
TICKETS: $25 (adults); $15 (seniors and students) and free (under 12 accompanied by an adult).
For more information, please visit the orchestra’s website as Tickets are available at the door or by calling (973)980-1809.

This all-Beethoven program includes his dramatic “Leonore Overture No.3”, lyrical “Romance in F for Violin and Orchestra” and iconic “Symphony No. 5 in C Minor.”  There will be a chance to meet and greet orchestra members and Maestro LaGruth at the end of the performance.

Beethoven composed a new “Leonore Overture” for each of the four times his one and only opera was revived during his lifetime. The No.3 (actually the second written) is considered the most successful as a concert piece and is a symphonic poem telling the story of the opera. In the opera, Leonore is disguised as the male prison guard Fidelio as she attempts to rescue her husband Florestan from the evil Pizzaro. The music describes Florestan’s oppression, resolve, hope and ultimate deliverance, signaled by an offstage trumpet fanfare.

Next, the orchestra is lucky to showcase its concert master Stephan Fillore in Beethoven’s “Romance in F for Violin and Orchestra.” A songlike instrumental piece, a romance is expressive and lyrical. This romance is the second written by Beethoven and has the violin playing in its highest register, ensuring a sweet melodic line. Contrasting orchestral sections at the end of the violinist’s themes are characterized by long-short rhythms.

Following a short intermission, the orchestra explores what makes Beethoven’s “Fifth Symphony in C Minor” one of his greatest musical works. Probably one of the most powerful and recognizable openings in music, the iconic four notes (short-short-short-long) have been described as “knocks at a door”, the “fate motif” or as representative of Beethoven’s life of genius, independence , eccentricity, and hearing loss. All four movements of this symphony grow from these seeds sown in the opening measures. In addition to following this four note theme throughout the symphony, the audience member can ultimately look forward to a triumphant C major finale in the last movement.

The Livingston Symphony Orchestra, composed of semiprofessional and professional musicians of all walks of life, has been representing the finest in community orchestras for over fifty years. Conductor and Music director Anthony LaGruth has a true gift of communication and teaching and will add much to enhance the concert experience.

In addition to the convenience of a suburban setting, adjacent parking to Livingston High School is free and the venue is wheelchair accessible with available audio assistive devices.