Tuesday, December 26, 2017

A New Year Brings New Plays to Madison’s Writers Theatre of NJ

Writers Theatre of New Jersey Logo


WHEN: kicking off on January 2 and running through January 15, 7 PM
Fairleigh Dickinson University’s Dreyfuss Theatre, 285 Madison Avenue, Madison
readings are free with a recommended donation of $10 (or pay what you can), but you can get a seven-play pass for a donation of $25; a fourteen-play pass for $35; or a Big Read Pass, which gives you entrance to all Soundings Readings as well as our March series at The Bickford Theatre, Jersey City Theatre Center, and Mile Square Theatre.
For more information on this year’s Soundings series, the playwrights, the individual plays, or to reserve your seat, please click here.

Soundings brings you fourteen plays in fourteen days. Featuring new works from some of the country’s best playwrights—this year’s crop includes two Pulitzer Prize nominees, Kilroy and Emmy Award winners, and more—and they’re performed by professional actors under the direction of professional playwright— a great way to see some of the best new theatre without paying a lot of money.

Each reading will be followed by a brief post-show discussion with the playwright and the director, where the audience will be invited to give feedback on the play. This part of the process is important, as this feedback often helps to shape the play as it moves forward to future productions; it’s a chance for you to be an important part of the creative process.

Staged readings, like those in the Soundings series, allow playwrights to hear their work read aloud by professional actors and to see the reaction of audiences to their play; the performances and reaction help the playwright determine what changes, if any, are needed to further develop the script. For audiences, this is a way to become part of the creative process and to help shape brand new plays. It’s also an inexpensive way to see a lot of great, professional theatre close to home.

This year’s plays are:

  • Tuesday, January 2 – “The Patriot” by Joe Sutton
  • Wednesday, January 3 – “Like Saltwater” by Pia Wilson
  • Thursday, January 4 – “Nichiiwad” by Hal Corley
  • Friday, January 5 – “Hurricane Colleen” by Tammy Ryan
  • Saturday, January 6 – “And Their Sons, Too...” by Seth Rozin
  • Sunday, January 7 – “Encounters” by Yasmine Rana
  • Monday, January 8 – “Memoirs of a Forgotten Man” by D.W. Gregory
  • Tuesday, January 9 – “Teach” by Donna Hoke
  • Wednesday, January 10 –  “Wolf at the Door” by Richard Dresser
  • Thursday, January 11 – “Redux” by Rob Zellers
  • Friday, January 12 – “Ghost Story” by Lia Romeo
  • Saturday, January 13 – “The Excavation of Mary Anning” by Ian August
  • Sunday, January 14 – “The Real Story” by Robert Clyman
  • Monday, January 15 – “Branwell (and the other Brontës): an autobiography edited by Charlotte Brontë” by Stephen Kaplan

Dates and plays are subject to change, please consult the website for any last minute changes.