Wednesday, May 21, 2014


By Maurice Duruflé

WHEN: Saturday, May 31, at 8:00 PM
United Methodist Church on the Green in Morristown
TICKETS: $15.00 for students 18 and under, $20.00 for seniors and $25.00 for General Admission.
For more information or to order tickets, call 973.998.7239 or visit

The 75-voice Morris Choral Society concludes their 42nd season with a performance of one of the most beloved choral pieces of all time, the Requiem by Maurice Duruflé. The concert will also include works by Franz Biebl, Felix Mendelssohn and Randall Thompson.  (Above: Choral Society conductor Wayne Walters; photo credit: Morris Choral Society)

The concert, which includes a full orchestra and guest soloists, will be dedicated to the memory of the Choral Society members who have passed away over the years. The guest organist for Requiem will be Ian Tomesch of Morristown, principal organist for St. Mary’s Abbey at Delbarton. Other soloists include harpist Merynda Adams of Madison, bass-baritone Stephen Bryant of Montclair and mezzo-soprano Denise Mihalik of Piscataway.

Duruflé was a 20th Century French composer who based his Requiem on the beautiful Gregorian Chants he loved. This much loved choral work has three versions and Morris Choral Society artistic director Wayne Walters has selected the full orchestral version for this performance.

Handling the challenging organ solos will be Ian Tomesch (left), the principal organist for St. Mary’s Abbey at the Delbarton School. A graduate of Delbarton and Yale University, Mr. Tomesch has achieved numerous awards including recognition from the Yale School of Music, Pi Lambda Honor Society, American Guild of Organists, the Albert Schweitzer Organ Festival, the Music Educators Association and the Professional Music Teachers Guild.

Joining the ensemble on the harp is Affiliate Artist Teacher at Drew University Merynda Adams. Ms. Adams made her New York debut to a sold out Carnegie Recital Hall as a winner of the Artist International Competition and has performed throughout the United States, France Belgium, the Netherlands and Puerto Rico.