Wednesday, January 19, 2011


Wizard of Oz

The Wizard of Oz
Directed by Stephen L. Fredricks
Musical Direction by Laura Petrie
Choreography by Jillian Petrie

WHEN: February 4–27, Fridays at 7:30 PM, Saturdays and Sundays at 4:00 PM
Route 183, 7 Ledgewood Avenue in Netcong
TICKETS: $16 for adults, $12 for children and seniors, with group rates and birthday party rooms are available and can be reserved by calling 973.347.4946 or by logging onto the company’s website at 

Dorothy Gale is a young girl who lives on a farm in Kansas with her Aunt Em and Uncle Henry. To escape her mean neighbor, Miss Gulch, who wants to take away her dog Toto, Dorothy runs away. She and Toto meet up with kind Professor Marvel, who convinces her to go back home. A cyclone hits the area, and Dorothy and Toto are locked out of the family's storm cellar. They go into her room in the house, where Dorothy is accidently hit on the head. This begins their journey to the Land of Oz.

This professional production features the talents of Equity artists Lyndsey Brown in the role of Dorothy; Robert Mintz as the Scarecrow; Ryan Malyar as the Tin Woodsman; Jeffrey Higgins as the Cowardly Lion; Jenna Morris in the role of Glinda the Good Witch; William Ward as the Great Oz; and Lori B. Lawrence as the Wicked Witch of the West. Also featured in the cast of 35 is Bryn Bennett of Randolph playing the role of Toto; Dalton Allison of Andover as Nikko the Flying Monkey; and Olivia Row of Sparta as the Mayor of Munchkin City.

The adaptation, which is based on the MGM classic movie, was originally conceived by the Royal Shakespeare Company in London. This is the sixth time the Growing Stage has produced this version over its 29-year history and is part of the recognition of the company’s fifteenth anniversary of the re-opening of its home, the Historic Palace Theatre in Netcong. The company’s Wizard of Oz officially opened the theatre on March 1, 1996. 

The Growing Stage is a professional member theatre of the Association of Actor’s Equity and is funded in part by the New Jersey State Council on the Arts.