Friday, May 31, 2013


BONJ New Header


WHEN: Sunday, June 9, 3:00 PM
Dolan Hall, College of St. Elizabeth, Convent Station
ADMISSION: Adult: $35, Senior: $25, Student: $5
Tickets for Jupiter Soaring

Franz Joseph HAYDN: Cello Concerto in C - Moderato
Franz SCHUBERT:  Symphony #2
Wolfgang Amadeus MOZART:  Symphony #41, the Jupiter Symphony

The Baroque Orchestra of New Jersey concludes its exciting 2012-2013 season with a trio of great composers who defined new boundaries and styles.

Principal Cellist Karen Pinoci opens the concert with her interpretation of the beautiful Moderato movement of Franz Joseph Haydn's Cello Concerto in C. This highly lyrical music reflects Haydn's position in mastering the transition from the Baroque to the Classical style. While most of it sounds like Haydn and Mozart, there are several passages that reflect the influence of earlier composers, most notably Antonio Vivaldi.

Franz Schubert's youthful Symphony #2 shows the sixteen-year-old composer developing his own sound with influences from two of the most popular composers of the time (1814)—Ludwig van Beethoven and Gioachino Rossini. Schubert's unforgettably melodic style is evident in every measure as he takes inspiration from Beethoven's complex motivic developmental symphonies as well as the bubbly  joie de vivre energy of Rossini.

The concert closes with one of the greatest of all symphonies—Mozart's Symphony #41—The Jupiter Symphony. Composed as the final of a set of three in the summer of 1788, Mozart's music contains elements that defined eighteenth century music while foreshadowing the harmonic and emotional expression of the Romantic period that followed. The finale of Mozart's symphony is perhaps the most brilliant contrapuntal movement in the entire history of the symphony—bursting with motives that explode from every corner of the orchestra.

Don't miss Jupiter Soaring - BONJ's seasonal grand finale.